Surrey Trio In PCA Team of the Year

Morkel Essex cele.jpg

Surrey’s County Championship winning side have three representatives in the Greene King Team of the Year with Rikki Clarke and Morne Morkel joining Rory Burns who captains the XI which has been selected via the PCA Most Valuable Player Rankings.

The team contains all nominees from the NatWest PCA Players’ Player of the Year shortlist with Kent’s Joe Denly and Matt Henry following Burns and Clarke into the Team of the Year as well as being nominated for the headline prize at tomorrow’s NatWest PCA Awards.

Burns, who won the Cricket Writers' County Championship Player of the Year on Tuesday, was far and away the best batsman in this year's Division One - scoring 1,359 runs at the top of the order.

Clarke played the all-rounder role expertly with 47 wickets and 500 runs in the Specsavers County Championship triumph.

Morkel's 59 wickets at an average of 14.32 proved crucial in Surrey's 10 wins that carried them to their first title in 16 years.

Six counties are represented in the Team of the Year, including at least one from every county who either won a trophy or gained promotion.

Selected ahead of the last round of County Championship fixtures and via the MVP formula, the team consists of the best performing individuals in each position with the final XI selected on batting, bowling and fielding points across all competitions as well as average MVP points per match in county cricket.

Rory Burns - captain

  • 375 Overall MVP points

  • Top batsman in Championship MVP

  • Most runs in the Championship, 1,359

  • Captained Surrey to first title since 2002

  • Called-up to England Test squad

Alex Davies

  • 390 Overall MVP points

  • Top opening batsman in Overall MVP

  • 336 Overall Batting MVP points

  • Scored 1,605 across all formats

  • Hit six fifties in 15 T20 games

Joe Denly

  • 579 Overall MVP points

  • Won PCA’s Most Valuable Player

  • 1,729 runs in all competitions

  • 57 wickets in all formats

  • Called-up to England Test squad

Ian Bell

  • 386 Overall MVP points

  • 1,833 runs across all formats

  • 580 Blast runs, averaging 48

  • Hit seven centuries in all formats

  • Helped Warwickshire to promotion

James Vince

  • 388 Overall MVP points

  • 1,737 runs across all formats

  • Past 50 on 10 separate occasions

  • Top scorer for Hants in red-ball & One-Day Cup

  • Led Hampshire to One-Day Cup title

Moeen Ali

  • 406 Overall MVP points

  • Highest MVP average in county cricket

  • August’s PCA Player of the Month

  • 17 games, 12 wins, eight as captain

  • Led the Rapids to T20 title

Dane Vilas - wicketkeeper

  • 383 Overall MVP points

  • Highest placed keeper in MVP

  • Keeper gained 147 fielding points

  • 235* - highest individual score in Championship

  • 1,194 runs across all formats

Rikki Clarke

  • 501 Overall MVP points

  • 76 wickets in all formats

  • 777 runs in all formats

  • Only missed one of Surrey’s 36 games

  • Averaged 31 with bat & 22 with ball in Championship

Ed Barnard

  • 478 MVP points

  • Third in Overall MVP

  • 77 wickets across all formats

  • 784 runs across all formats

  • Won Vitality Blast

Matt Henry

  • 387 Overall MVP points

  • 75 Championship wickets, season high

  • Took three 10-wicket hauls

  • Second highest wicket taker in One-Day Cup with 16

  • Lord’s final and achieved promotion

Morne Morkel

  • 374 Overall MVP points

  • Nobody achieved more bowling points with 326

  • 59 Championship wickets in 10 games

  • Best strike rate of bowlers taking more than 13 wickets

  • Won County Championship